The Chakras are seven bodily energy centers which move from the base of the spine to the top of the head. The word chakra derived from the Sanskrit word for wheel or sometimes referred to as padmas which means lotus.  Chakra’s are not normally seen – unless clairvoyant (a person with the gift to see energy, an extra sensory perception), but if we were able to see the chakras they are described as colorful spinning wheels or lotus flowers. The spinning wheel concept specifies that they are moving, active, vibrating energy points found in living beings. The lotus flower represents that, like a plant it is something that grows with development, so in us some of our energy centres have not fully bloomed.

The first Chakra is called the Root or Muladhara Chakra which is located around the perineum and base of the spine.  Muladhara Chakra relates to our most basic survival needs, grounding, focus, feeling safe in your body and our sense of belonging, whether to our family or a larger group.

This chakra, which connects us to the earth, gives us important information about whether actions we’re considering will nurture us or pose danger. When we have a decision to make, we can listen to the signs of the root chakra: Uncomfortable feelings are a message to be attentive and reassess, while pleasant feelings are a message that this action will meet our needs for safety and nourishment.


What is the base chakra?

This chakra is all about survival, stability and instincts. It is said to be the seat of kundalini and helps ground one to the emotional and spiritual energies.The Sanskrit name for the base chakra is Muladhara, which means root support which is why it’s also known as the root chakra. It roots the body and soul to the earth and draws its energy from the ground. Think of it as your main power station, it’s connected to your physical energy, vitality and strength.  If we don’t have a strong base chakra, our other chakras will lack a strong foundation, and as a result our entire chakra system can be compromised.

Location of this Chakra in the Body

Base of the spine

Main Element Associated with this Chakra

The Chakra’s element is earth. It’s responsible for day to day processes such as good sexual function, self confidence and trust.

Gland Associated with this Chakra

The chakra gland is the suprarenal and adrenal.

Root Chakra affirmation

“I Am” – grounded, present, safe, secure, healthy

Root Chakra Hobbies

Cooking, work connected with the hands such as gardening, exercise – walking, swimming, yoga etc, charity work etc.


A Balanced Root Chakra

When this chakra is clear and energy flows through it freely, we feel safe, grounded, centered and confident that we can easily fulfill our needs. We are able to live effortlessly in the here and now.  You feel a strong connection with yourself and those around you. A balanced Base Chakra gives you a sense of security, stability and a feeling of a balanced existence.  When the root chakra is balanced you are able to manifest an abundance of everything you need to survive.

An Imbalanced Root Chakra

When the root chakra is blocked there is a disruption in the flow of earth energy – your grounding and nutrition – so part of you will say, “what is the point of being here,” or “why am I here.” You will be in denial of life and life’s lessons. You will feel disconnected, anxious, worries, unfocused, alienated from others and have a low libido. Your moods may be up and down like a yoyo! Your ability to manifest will not flow and you will lack energy both physically and mentally. You will fear for your survival but lack the energy to do anything about it.


How to Balance your Base Chakra

  • Take your shoes and socks off and go barefoot for the day.Walk barefoot on the grass feeling the nurturing earth beneath your feet.
  • Find a tree that you feel you connect with it’s energy and hug it. Feel the strength of the tree. This is how you should feel when you are grounded.
  • Listen and dance to your favorite music. Music with a deep beat that moves your body like hip hop or Latin music will best ground you.
  • Eat food that has come from the ground – potatoes, turnips, carrots, etc (think of all your root grounding veggies).
  • Watch a funny movie and feel the difference in your body.
  • Foster a sense of gratitude – write down all the things you are grateful for in your life. Now make some post-its of those things and place them around your home. Every time you catch a glimpse of a post-it read it and feel the energy of gratitude in your whole body.
  • Give some money to charity.
  • Get rid of clutter – any external clutter is a reflection of your inner world. By clearing away the clutter this will allow for new energy to come into your life.
  • Repeat this affirmation a couple of times daily at any opportunity: “I love who I am.”
  • Burn some Ylang-Ylang, rose or cedarwood essential oils in your home.
  • Try using these crystals: hematite, garnet, bloodstone, onyx or ruby. They can be placed at the base of your spine to assist in clearing, revitalising and healing. You can carry these with you as you go about your day.
  • Chose red foods.
  • Eat protein.


 Try this pose “Tree Pose – Vrksasana” to balance your root chakra.


  1. Start by standing in Mountain Pose; place your feet parallel and hip width apart.
  2. Extend your spine nice and tall and fix your gaze forward at a focal point (this is known as your drishti). It’s important to pick a point that is not moving as this helps you find balance and supports you from falling.
  3. Shift your weight gradually from your left foot to your right foot and focus your awareness on both feet. Contract your core muscles.
  4. Inhale, bend your left leg at the knee and take hold of your left foot with your hand. Place the sole of your left foot on your ankle, calf, mid-thigh, or upper thigh with your toes pointing down.
  5. Using your left hand, gently draw your left knee back a little to help open up your hip. Be mindful of the position of your hips; they should be squared and facing directly in front of you.
  6. Lengthen your spine by moving your tailbone towards the floor and drawing in the pelvic bone. Draw your bellybutton towards your spine and extend your spine by lowering and releasing your shoulders as you lengthen the back of your neck..
  7. Place palms in the prayer at the heart. Open up your chest by squeezing your shoulder blades together.
  8. As you inhale, slowly raise your arms overhead with your hands still in prayer. Continue to press your right foot lightly into the ground as the crown of the head lifts. Stay here for several breaths
  9. As you exit, exhale and slowly lower your palms to your heart and softly place your left foot on the floor into Mountain Pose. Pause to shake the right foot and repeat on the other side.


I hope you found this post useful on the root chakra and I hope that it has given you some clarity on how to balance this very important energy center.

Remember if we don’t have a strong base chakra, our other chakras will lack a strong foundation, and as a result our entire chakra system can be compromised.

Be kind, be courageous, be yourself.

Image Credit


Join our community and get updates delivered straight to your inbox.

Copyright © 2020 Corona Brady Pty Ltd